Tips & Tricks: Sausage Overload

sausage2

Paleo is a meat & vegetable happy diet. Some people may claim that it’s a little bit more expensive than normal, not accurate. If it’s expensive it’s because you are making crazy elaborate recipes from online and/or not paying attention at your local grocery. You don’t have to be fancy to be paleo. Plain old baked chicken and vegetables is just as delicious and pretty cheap. Meat.. also doesn’t have to be expensive:

A roll of sausage is about $2.50 here, give or take a few pennies and random sales.  That’s for the cheap stuff here at my Kroger, because I am a tightwad.

I am lucky enough to have about 4 major grocery store chains all within a block or so of my house. This makes my life so much easier in general.

I wish I was in-the-know for answers to give you so that you could just magically find markdowns at your store. Sadly, each store is different and often the policies vary.  Most of the time, in my experience, it happens on Monday or Tuesday. Usually whatever didn’t sell after they stocked the shelves high for the weekend. My Food Lion does it on Monday. Kroger seems to do it every single weekday. My Farm Fresh does it on Tuesday, and I don’t entirely know if Harris Teeter ever does it… either that or they are so good about it, it’s gone before I get there.

Either way, my Food Lion  always has marked down sausage rolls when I go looking.. Getting a roll for $1.00-$1.99 is a score for me, and today I bought 11 rolls for 1.59 each.  That saved me almost $11 buying it a roll at a time over the course of 2 or 3 months.  This is not limited to sausage. Bacon, Chicken, Hamburger, Steaks, ham, you name it. Just because it’s marked down, does not mean it’s bad. Usually they mark it down a few days before it goes bad, to get rid of it quickly. This just means you need to freeze it asap. Which is what I did here.  I also did this in two batches because I lack a huge bowl for mixing.

  • 10lbs. Rolled Sausage (Hot or Mild) or Ground Pork (Can use both, and mix!)
  • 2 T. Salt (optional, I just like to season my pork.)
  • 2 T. Ground Black Pepper
  • 1/4 C. Minced Garlic
  • 1/4 C. Each Fennel Seeds, Sage & Parsley (Optional)

Mix well using clean wet hands.  Package individually in Quart sized Freezer Bags. Freeze, Defrosts in about 7 minutes in the microwave or in the fridge overnight.

sausage

Leave a Reply

